Airport Commission

Membership and Term Length

There shall be an Airport Commission consisting of five resident voters of the City. Commissioners shall be appointed by the Mayor, subject to Council approval, for staggered terms of six years. Vacancies shall be filled by appointment by the Mayor, subject to Council approval, to fill out the unexpired term for which the appointment was made. Members of the Commission shall serve without compensation. The Commission shall elect from its own members a Chairperson and Secretary who shall serve for a term as the Commission shall determine.

Current Members

MemberTerm End Date
Dan Mikesh9/27/2028
Eddie Dunham3/31/2025
Cody Seeley4/1/2028
Kelly Goodsman-Smith3/31/2026
Richard Carlson8/30/2024

Commission Powers and Duties:

  • General. The Commission has all the powers in relation to airports granted to cities under state law except powers to sell the airport.
  • Budget. The Commission shall annually certify the amount of tax to be levied for airport purposes, and upon the certification the Council may include all or a portion of the amount in its budget.
  • Funds. All funds derived from taxation or otherwise for airport purposes shall be under the full and absolute control of the Commission for the purposes prescribed by law, and shall be deposited with the Clerk to the credit of the Airport Commission, and shall be disbursed only on the written orders of the Airport Commission, including the payment of all indebtedness arising from the acquisition and construction of airports and the maintenance, operation and extension thereof.